Posted in Gifts, indigo inspiration, mental-health

It’s OK…

It’s ok to be broken.

It’s okay to be incomplete.

It’s ok to not be there yet.

It’s really ok to look and be and feel and everything with you-ness.  Your worth is not wrapped up in meeting some invisible, arbitrary standard set by the nebulous ‘them’.  Often insults come in the form of “you’re so _____!”  Fill in the blank with anything that isn’t your strength.  Or some quality you are working on improving but have as yet not attained.  Or something you’re good at that doesn’t appear acceptable to the populace.  Take the power out of it by agreeing.

Yes!

I am messy.  And sensitive.  And contradictory.  I have trouble with any number of things.

And?

I already know that about myself.

But guess what?

I am a lot of other things too.  I am creative.  And sensitive.  And open to so many things.

I used to think that I could achieve perfection.  I used to think I should achieve perfection.  That until I made it, until I made the bell ring at the top by swinging the mallet with enough strength, I could not claim the love and acceptance from the ‘them’ and from myself that I so desperately crave.  I long for connection, but connection comes with so many rules, it seems.  And I am not in the box.  The rules don’t make sense to me.  The box dims my gifts and abilities and me-ness.

No one person possesses the elusive perfection that so many of us believe to be the goal.  Find out you.  You were perfectly and wonderfully crafted.  That truth can coexist with the flaws and imperfections you also contain.

Embrace your individually scarred body.

Befriend your one-of-a-kind mind.

Cherish your beautiful weird heart.

Love your neighbor as yourself.

See that hook?  Let yourself off.  You are not letting yourself down.

Simplify your perfection.

Because broken isn’t trash.

Incomplete isn’t worth less.

Not there yet means you’re on your way.  You’re in the middle of the process.  You’re living.  Being.  Experiencing.  Loving.  Growing.

Welcome 2017 with your beautiful, wonderful, exquisitely mosaic you.

Author:

I rock. I also paper and scissors.

2 thoughts on “It’s OK…

Come on. Let it out. You know you want to.

