Posted in Books, Emberleigh, Homeschool, indigo inspiration, Levi, Molly, Thanks for the memories, Wordtastic Wednesday

Early Childhood Education. Again.

You may recall that in time past, I was a crazy witch.  By was, I do mean that sometimes I still am, but to a lesser degree.  As in, people fear a little less for their lives when I am on a tirade, rant, or other typical everyday conversation.

“Ben” came to my door today.

Yes, I am the mom around here.

Yes, you guys bothered me 3 years ago.

Yes, I’m still amazing.

Pick up your backpack so my evil dog, bless her heart, won’t rip your wares to shreds.

I swear.  They give these boys a script.  “You must be the mom here” is not a good way to break the ice.  As you remember, from the last time this happened, I nearly decapitated the poor, pushy fellows.  Good thing they sent out a rather dorky kid this time, one who is probably in a chess club and has no girlfriend.  He was cheerful and polite, however, and not as full of himself as the last 2 chaps had been.  He didn’t attempt to guilt or insult me into making a purchase.  He did dole out the obligatory high five.  It didn’t seem obligatory.  He probably goes around high-fiving other chess nerds.  I’m cool with that.  Because I’m really not cool at all.

I think some wonderful homeschool mom in Fluvanna county must have put the fear of God in him, because when I mentioned that, being a homeschool mom, I already had the education bases covered, he realized the fight was over.  He dropped a few Fluvanna co-op names…  He knew he would not be making a sale.

This time I got called ‘supermom’.  Something about 3, 4, and 5 years old.  And homeschooling.  And going to a homeschool convention every year.  Also, I look a little less Bellatrix Lestrange than I did last time.  And I’m about 1/3 the size.  And maybe a little nicer.

He seemed genuinely impressed.  I may have detected a small glimmer of recognition or respect.  There is a possibility I had my ego-colored glasses on.  No matter.  I am an awesome, homeschool mom.

He did ask about the other kids in the neighborhood, and again, it may have been my frame of mind, but it seemed more conversational than script, and I think in other circumstances we could have geeked out over fictional characters together.

Author:

I rock. I also paper and scissors.

Come on. Let it out. You know you want to.

