Posted in Gifts, iLove, indigo inspiration, The Future

the american dream

I bought a house you guys.

Well, Jim and I bought a house.

Actually, Jim bought a house and my name is on it too.

Thanks, Babe.  xoxo.

Want the tour?

Crap.  I just let the vampires in.
Why, come in!

It stands to reason that the new house demanded a new welcome mat.  And not one of your ordinary, run-of-the-mill black rubber numbers.  Because, yes, I do consider it one of a home’s accessories.  I accessorize myself, don’t I?  Why should my place of dwelling deserve anything less than the best?

Before we go any further, please be advised that what is happening here is not bragging.  It feels a little awkward to show you these things as I am certain that someone will be onto me.  I have snuck into adulthood and am not here legitimately.  I feel as if someone else’s life has fulfilled a few of my dreams and any day now, whoever is in charge of these things will show up to take me away.

late summer wreath
late summer wreath

Thanks to my little sister Ky-Bug for helping me make this wreath from a box of fake flowers we found when we did “spring” cleaning at the church, to Joann’s for their fall decor sale, and, uh, last but not least, the wonderful crew at McDonalds for spending hours making those egg McMuffins, without which I might never be tardy.  Ahem.  Not really.  Name that movie.

I digress.

Of course, someday my basement will have a large stack of Rubbermaid bins containing a new wreath for each season/holiday.  Even the one-day holidays.  Because why not.

I jumped ahead of myself, tho, and now you know I have a basement.

Freakin.  Huge.  Kitchen.
There are so many cabinets that I am renting out rooms in the extra ones.

It’s really too bad I can’t get a wheat mill in the vibrant red of my VitaMix and KitchenAid.  Tho I have since added a Tomato Red compost can for the counter by the sink.  World Market, FTW.  A trashcan in red would be magical and I think attainable with a can of Rustoleum.  A red teakettle is on my Christmas list.

Do any of you watch Breaking Bad?  More specifically, have you noticed Maria’s house, her kitchen?  How everything is in purple?  Like the magic purple fairies are on retainer? I love.  I am attempting to slowly replicate this idea in a color that will not cause my poor husband to reside elsewhere.  This does include utensils.

You guys, I have wanted a bay window for most of my life.
Breakfast Nooooook!

And homeschool-friendly pony wall.  It’s why I bought the house, yo.  The details in this house are incredible.  For example, in the side of my kitchen island I have a power outlet.  And the dishwasher is immediately next to the breakfast nook for easy clearing of the table.

I think my very favorite thing is the vast amount of natural light.  I don’t have to turn lights on until the sun goes down.  At least for now until I paint the walls ridiculous light-absorbing colors.  Just, um, kidding…?

Sort of…

The truth is that even with all the color I put in the girls’ castle, I mean room, there is still more sunshine than even a fairy knows what to do with.

when you live inside a jewelry box...
fairy princess castle

The opposite wall has stripes on the bottom half and the darker pink on top, and behind me is a wall in the light pink.  Also, because a woman must have designed this house, there are 2 separate closets which I will of course label decoratively for each individual princess.

It must also be noted that we moved on a Friday night and this room was painted by the following Tuesday.  Thanks to Jim and Martha Young and Ky-Bug.  Because I can’t help myself.  I’d been pinning to a little girl Pinterest board for at least a month before we closed on the house.  I was inspired.  Which is why there is a bronze oil paint Sharpie line around the entire room between the wall and the ceiling.

So basically, the entire house house is boring and white except for the girls’ room.  And by boring and white, I mean loudly screaming to my creative senses for inspiration and individuality.  My soul is happy.

Contributing to this blissful state is the 2.5 bathrooms, of which, the upstairs 2 are equipped with double vanities.  O, the joy of not knocking elbows at every turn!

And I finally have a laundry room.  *sigh of relief*  I like to believe that this will inspire me to stay on top of the laundry situation and cause me to be diligent and disciplined, but I think we can all agree that this is but a pipe dream.

So be prepared for pictures of vibrant decor and individual expression with a side of unfolded laundry.  It’s who I am.  Stop trying to change me.

😉

Before I forget, I do want to brag about something.  Besides the oversized bathtub overlooked by an enormous window, and the fact that no house will ever be built behind my property, thus rendering curtains merely decorative in said window, the master suite has been rendered magical with the forethought of design to include both ‘his’ and ‘hers’ closets.  Jim’s is an ordinary closet size, a decent size for a normal amount of man clothes.  Mine, on the other hand, is a full sized WALK IN CLOSET.  On the other side of the room.  The designers of this house and all it’s glory, who I am convinced are women and/or open-minded men, also strongly believe in marriage and desire from the depths of their being to keep relationships strong and safe by removing one of the biggest areas of stress between and woman and her man.  My ridiculous amount of shoes and wide array of fashionable garments no longer vex my husband to his very soul by their intrusion into his ability to maneuver about our sanctuary.  Which I have taken to calling our room because I love it so much.  I am convinced you will as well, once I develop the look I have in my head for it.

Spray paint will be involved.  As will my sewing machine.  And a bottle of bleach.

Among other things.

I’m gonna go troll Pinterest now.  I have rooms to dress.

my slice of Virginia
Fitzgerald Palace

And a house to love.

I can’t even handle it, you guys.

It’s a miracle.  At the beginning of the year I felt that I would buy a house this summer.  Like I was getting a hint of encouragement from my Lord.  After the last few years we’ve had, it felt like a light at the end of the tunnel and the beginning of room to breathe.  I also thought I was crazy.  I may be that as well, but then I am a crazy person who has been blessed beyond my wildest dreams and I really have no words for the gratefulness in my heart.  Not just for the house, because it is indeed wonderful, but for getting to where I am.

On the map.

In my head.

My heart.

My relationships.

Etc.

Here I raise my Ebenezer.  (come thou fount)

Hitherto hath the Lord helped us. (1 sam 7 12)

 

 

P.S.  Did I mention the 2 car garage?

Sorry.

😉

 

Author:

I rock. I also paper and scissors.

6 thoughts on “the american dream

Come on. Let it out. You know you want to.

