Posted in Crunchyesque, Food

Vegan Broccoli Soup

I’m not even gonna give you the original recipe because I did it so differently.  For one thing, I made it a CrockPot meal.  And none of this peeling the broccoli business.

Best guess: serves about 6.  I have kids…  Mine loved this, by the way.

more delicious than it looks...
I am not a good food-photographer.

Place broccoli & herbs into stock and bring to a boil. Reduce heat & simmer until tender enough to put into blender.  This step was totally a CrockPot step for me.  

  • 6 – 8 cups of broccoli.  I snuck some carrots and cauliflower into mine.  And frozen from Sam’s is fine.  6 cups if you want thinner soup and more if you like thicker, chunkier sustenance.
  • 4 cups unsalted vegetable stock
  • 1/2 cup loose chopped parsley
  • 1/2 tsp powdered or crushed dried rosemary
  • 1 tsp dried powdered or crushed dried thyme
  • I also added some fresh basil leaves from my window box.

Peel and crush garlic cloves, dice onion. Sauté on medium heat in oil for 10 minutes then add to broccoli mixture.

  • 2 tsp olive oil (or whatever you prefer to sauté with, I believe I used safflower)
  • 1 – 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1/4 cup diced yellow onion

Place broccoli and all that other jazz into the blender
(in portions so as not to overburden your appliances).

Pour back into CrockPot.

Heat the olive oil in a pan. Add the flour and cook on low for ten minutes.  Stir in rice milk or almond milk with a whisk, bring to a boil then simmer till thickened, stirring constantly with the whisk otherwise your sauce will be lumpy. 

  • 2 Tbsp flour ( I doubled the flour [4 Tbsp] since I was using home milled wheat flour)
  • 2 cups unsweetened rice milk or unsweetened plain almond milk
  • Salt & pepper to taste.
  • Whatever other herbs and/or spices you feel like adding.
Mix into broccoli mixture and set on low till dinnertime.  You may need to vent the lid a tad to let the steam escape.  It all depends on how thick you want your soup.  

crappy picture, yummy soup
vegan broccoli soup
Click the picture, find the recipe.
Save the cheerleader, save the world.
Author:

I rock. I also paper and scissors.

3 thoughts on “Vegan Broccoli Soup

  1. This looks yummy! Love how you broke up the ingredients, it makes it really handy. I might start using that method of sharing!

    Can’t wait to try this!

    Like

    1. Thanks! I tried to write it the way I wish recipes were set up. And as for the soup, my 16 month old liked it so much I put it in a cup with a straw for her.

      Like

Come on. Let it out. You know you want to.

