Posted in Crafty, Crunchyesque, Food

bread, yo!

Got a wheat mill?

I've snipped from Amazon.com
I gots this one.

I also have a breadmaker but it’s so old or discontinued that I found simply nothing when searching the great wide web for pictures.  I find myself forced to describe it.  And compare to one with which I would like to replace it.  Mine makes a 1-lb loaf and simply has an on/off switch (i lied.  it’s start/stop), and a warming setting which automatically kicks in upon completion of loaf baking (and can dry out the loaf if left unattended for any extended length of time.   It is a great little machine.  I have really no complaints save for the fact that I am impatient and would like a window in the top so I can watch the little baby dough grow into a mature loaf.  A 2-lb loaf wouldn’t be bad either.  Now to set up a donation page…

As it stands now, the baking cycle takes 2 hours and 19 minutes.

Measuring the ingredients into the baking pan must be done in precisely the order in which I command.  Otherwise, the world will implode.  Also, your loaf of bread will suck and will win no ribbons at the county fair.

So mill your darn wheat berries, people.  I use Prairie Gold White Wheat berries for bread.  I’m not entirely sure why.  Something to do with the texture and weight of the loaf I think.   I’m still learning all this stuff.  And you’ll also have to eyeball how much wheat to mill for the amount of flour the recipe calls for.  It’s a learning process.   And the fact that I’m blogging does not mean that I’m an expert.  That would be my mom.  But she refuses to blog.  To share her knowledge with the world.  As well as her humor.  I consider it selfishness.  And, yes.  She will read this.

The ingredients can be purchased at your local Henry’s, Whole Foods, Trader Joe’s, Mother’s Market, etc.  Except for the prairie gold white wheat berries.  I get mine here.

So, measure into the baking pan (or whatever the technical term is):

For a 1lb loaf…

3/4 cup coconut milk, hot

2 Tb & 2 tsp honey

2 Tb & 2 tsp coconut oil

1 tsp salt

2 1/4 cup flour

1/2 Tb active dry yeast

~

For a 2lb loaf…

1 1/2 cup coconut milk, hot

1/3 cup honey

1/3 cup coconut oil

2 tsp salt

4 1/2 cup flour

1 Tb active dry yeast

~

There are things you can add to the bread to make it healthier or more awesome, but since I have recently mastered the art of walking from one end of my kitchen to the other without tripping, I will add these things as I learn them.

And then I will blog.

Unlike my mom.

Did no one teach her about sharing?

Author:

I rock. I also paper and scissors.

4 thoughts on “bread, yo!

Come on. Let it out. You know you want to.

