Posted in Insane in the Brain, Thanks for the memories

empathy

We think we can see the pain in others because we have similar pain.

But when we see it, are we wallowing with them, or empathizing?  There is a difference.

I’m starting to think that wallowing prevents us from seeing the person who is suffering.  Bitterness only sees other bitterness to egg on.

When we are/have been in agony, our perspective dictates our response to the grief of others:

  • Is it clean hurt, or infectious hurt?
  • Do I see my pain with purpose, as the Divine Surgeon heals with His scalpel of choice?
  • Am I fighting the treatment and hampering my recovery by picking at the scars?
  • Am I finding others infected to re-infect me with their misery?
  • Or are we helping each other to heal?
Author:

I rock. I also paper and scissors.

Come on. Let it out. You know you want to.

