Posted in Family, Food, Movies, The Future, TV

survivors

Let’s face it.  A very little stands between our comfortable, complicated lives and a simple, brutal existence, foraging for our very survival.  Perhaps my frail mental state helps to blur the lines between reality and television, but with my capacity for abstract thought, I can surmise on the possible future resulting from current economic, social, and political trends.  It, my friends, is ugly.  Frightening.  And highly uncomfortable.

will you?
“SURVIVORS” on BBC

We are a soft, flabby, incapable, pansy society.  We may be well-trained in various fields of science and technology.  Worlds may rise and fall with pushes of buttons by our ultra-educated minds.  We have been raised and trained for greatness.  Our aim in life is mainly self fulfillment and outstanding success.  As a people group, we have amassed greater knowledge, expertise, and ambition than quantifiable.

And we are useless.

We enjoy our amenities to a fault.  In a world empty of what we today consider necessities, we would be lost.  At survival, we would not last at length.

In a warped response to various end of the world TV series and apocalypse genre movies, I have been considering what it would take to keep myself and those I love safe, healthy, and marginally comfortable.  The conclusion reached is that with the resources I have at my disposal, I would fare poorly.  However, with the resources I have at my disposal, I believe I can prepare myself to be capable.  I want to be able to provide fresh produce in some measure.  I want to be able to prepare food in less than desirable circumstances.  I want a house with a daggum basement!  O, that’s another post for another time.  Related, but other.

So far, this is what I have:

in case of societal collapse
my garden

Not much, but with expectations at little to none, I hope to not despair if I harvest nothing this year.  I have a tendency to kill green things inadvertently.  We shall see…

Hopefully what we see is lettuce, carrots, onions, broccoli, peas, beans, tomatoes, and various squash/melon type fruits.  Or a collection of 1, 2, or more of the aforementioned produce.

Or you will see me in a vegetative state due to a mental breakdown induced by my sheer inability to cope with failure.

Either way: vegetables happen.  It’s a win/win situation.

if all goes according to plan they will be
tomatoes
Author:

I rock. I also paper and scissors.

5 thoughts on “survivors

  1. Hehehe, I’m not one to think the end of the world as we know it is at hand. However, growing, eating fresh healthy food and saving money at the same time is one of my survival strategies

    Happy gardening.

    Like

Come on. Let it out. You know you want to.

