Posted in Living Water, Thanks for the memories

Solomon’s Shoes

Happy 1st Day of Spring, y’all!

Happy Sunday!

I like to take notes.  It helps me listen and sharpens my ability to recall later what I heard.  In class.  In staff meetings.  In church.  Wherever.

I also love Twitter from the depths of my soul.

Wonderful technology has been developed.  It allows me to carry Twitter in my pocket with me whenever and wherever I go.  The Android-powered cellular phone.  I personally own the Motorola i1.  Jim bought it for me last year as an anniversary gift.  He won.  I won.  Win-win.  Did I mention that Twitter and I are BFF’s?

Twitter, the Android, and my love for taking notes got together and made a baby.

(*The idea was born, partly due to @Lula34 and her occasional #ChurchTweet.*)

I began taking notes during the Sunday Morning Service with the Twitter app on my i1.

This morning was no different.  I don’t always get everything.  In fact, I often miss a lot, but in addition to the personal benefit, I get to share something I love with the Twitter’verse.  I copied today’s #churchtweet Twitterfeed and inserted it here:

  • Good morning! #ChurchTweet
  • (2 Chronicles 7:11-22) Thus Solomon finished the house of the Lord and the king’s house. All that Solomon had planned to do in the house of the Lord and in his own house he successfully accomplished.   Then the Lord appeared to Solomon in the night and said to him: “I have heard your prayer and have chosen this place for myself as a house of sacrifice.   When I shut up the heavens so that there is no rain, or command the locust to devour the land, or send pestilence among my people,   if my people who are called by my name humble themselves, and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and heal their land.   Now my eyes will be open and my ears attentive to the prayer that is made in this place.   For now I have chosen and consecrated this house that my name may be there forever. My eyes and my heart will be there for all time.   And as for you, if you will walk before me as David your father walked, doing according to all that I have commanded you and keeping my statutes and my rules,   then I will establish your royal throne, as I covenanted with David your father, saying, ‘You shall not lack a man to rule Israel.’  “But if you turn aside and forsake my statutes and my commandments that I have set before you, and go and serve other gods and worship them, then I will pluck you up from my land that I have given you, and this house that I have consecrated for my name, I will cast out of my sight, and I will make it a proverb and a byword among all peoples. And at this house, which was exalted, everyone passing by will be astonished and say, ‘Why has the Lord done thus to this land and to this house?’ Then they will say, ‘Because they abandoned the Lord, the God of their fathers who brought them out of the land of Egypt and laid hold on other gods and worshiped them and served them. Therefore he has brought all this disaster on them.'”
  • We Need to Pray.
  • In a time of God-arranged affliction intended to bring the people back to Him, if they would seek Him in truth, He WOULD answer.
  • Instead of taking over from the Romans, Jesus went to the temple and went crazy on the merchants. AND THEN HE SPOKE OF PRAYER.
  • Salvation -> relationship -> communication -> prayer.
  • Exalt + Equip + Engage = impossible without prayer.
  • We aren’t equipped for ministry without prayer.
  • We can’t engage with each other beneficially without prayer.
  • It’s easy to go through the motions without prayer but there is no worship or service or relationship in that.
  • It’s like bringing a Dixie cup to a waterfall. You’re missing the whole point. Amen.
  • He’s the only God you’ve got, so make one up or serve Him.
  • What about the hardship, Lord? I put it there so you’d seek Me.
  • Turn your face towards Me. I will answer.
  • It’s an opportunity to wake up. To search your heart. And your commitment to prayer.
  • There are things in me that need to be changed.
  • What kind of churchgoer are you?
  • Are you a consumer, a now-and-thener?
  • Presentation of the Gospel is not an invitation to the Comfortable Club.
  • It’s putting you in direct opposition to the world.
  • Stop bringing your Dixie cup to church. And only catching the little bit that you want.
  • It’s not easy to be part of a struggling church.
  • You can leave or you can put yourself in Solomon’s shoes.
  • When God’s provision changes, adjust yourself to the provision.
  • Humble yourself and pray.
  • No excuses, just change

The gist of today’s manna is this:

The Gospel is good news.  Not for mere fire insurance.  It is the promise of restored relationship between humanity and Creator for whosoever will come to Him for salvation.  When the soul has reached depths of darkness and recognizes its own desperate cry for reconnection with its Maker, His bleeding, nail-pierced hand rests on the arm of the chair beside the lost, upturned.  Waiting.

When the lost soul reaches out and takes the Hand, the souls begins to heal.  The broken line between Master and bondslave is re-aligned and begins to develop.  Communication is developed, communication, which is the lifeblood of relationship.  Which is what salvation is: salvation = relationship with Almighty God.  Prayer is our line of communication.  We pour out our hearts and make room for our hearts to be poured into by Him.  He already knows us.  It is we who need to learn.  To know Him.  He desires our love.  He longs for our fellowship.  It is why we were made.  This fellowship is kept through prayer.  Prayer is important to Him.

When we forget this, when we turn to the right or the left, He may send a hardship across our path–a difficulty that brings us back to the place where we recognize our own desperate cry for connection with our Maker.  That place is on our knees.  That place is our heart as it communes in earnest with Deity.    As it brings adoration to Christ who left the majesty of heaven for the redemption of sinful man.

We cannot have a relationship without communication.  We cannot have communication without prayer.  We cannot maintain the health of our souls without being fed by persistent, consistent time spent with our Beloved.  We cannot hope to fill the roles dictated and mandated by life and love and God without being sustained from on high.  We cannot worship our God, we cannot serve our family, we cannot love each other without being bound to Him in prayer.

We cannot choose what we will or will not experience from life, or from God.  We cannot decide what is for us and what is not.  When the sun scorches you and life throws you lemons, it is God saying, “Come have lemonade with me.  I want to have fellowship with you.  I want to call you friend.  I want to refine you so that you can know me.”

So pray.  Seek the Lord with your whole heart.  He wants to be found.  He desires your fellowship and your love.  Each bump in the road is an opportunity.  It is a chance to see something about yourself that is standing in the way of another level of closeness with the Savior.  It is a choice to seek the Lord and see yourself through His eyes.

It is not easy.  The Gospel is not an invitation to Comfortable Club.

Humble yourself and pray.

Author:

I rock. I also paper and scissors.

One thought on “Solomon’s Shoes

  1. I love that you do this. We don’t always get to go to church because of hubby’s crazy schedule, and on the days when we don’t it’s extra encouraging. 🙂

    Like

Come on. Let it out. You know you want to.

