Posted in Levi, Mom

Temporary

This morning, I was looking at this:

"I can't do it, Mommy.  It's too big."
Before

Disastrous.  For the room.  For the safety of all who enter.  For my health, both mental & emotional.  I felt like Levi.  “Come to your room with me,” I implored my offspring.  “We’re going to clean your room.”  They followed.  Half-reluctantly.  The good 1/2: I was coming with them.  The bad 1/2: I was coming with them.  The words ‘clean’, ‘put’, and ‘away’  all happened in the same breath.  A breath I let out and was afraid to draw back in.  Levi sat down on the floor with his back against the wall.  “I can’t do it, Mommy,” he said with a pained look on his face.  “I can’t do it.  It’s too big!”

A measure of structure slowly began to emerge from the chaos.

The carpet re-appeared.  It had been missing so long, the statute of limitations had run out.

Between my fierce determination, also known as ultra-focused fixation, bordering on mental collapse, and 4 empty Rubbermaid items, I was capable of creating this:

She needs wide open spaces...
Apparently, their room is carpeted, not toyed.
the joy of Rubbermaid
order
'take a picture.  it lasts longer.'
I can't stop staring. It might disappear if I do.
just dance, gonna be ok, d-d-d-dance, dance, dance, j-j-just dance
Now there's room to dance.
Author:

I rock. I also paper and scissors.

Come on. Let it out. You know you want to.

