Posted in Crafty, Oh, Baby!

Down with Scooby Doo!

My very nerdy picture of a sewing project I finished.  I am most certainly a hoooomeschooler.
My very nerdy picture of a sewing project I finished. I am most certainly a hoooomeschooler.

It was possible.   I threw the idea out there.  It was just an idea.  A tickle in the under-used recesses of my brain, if you will.  There are 3 of us at my current place of employment that are housing fetuses in various stages of development.  2 of them attire themselves in scrubs day in and day out as it is a medical facility of the animal persuasion.  Most women whose daily wardrobe consists of said clothing merely purchase larger sizes of scrubs if perchance they find themselves incubating the small, unborn version of a human. Maternity scrubs can be purchased for those desiring a more acceptable level of comfort and/or fashionability.  The cost of these items, however, is most certainly NOT for the faint of heart.  If one works 5 days/week, then theoretically, one would need 5 sets of these outfits designed and made specifically for the pregnant nurse, vet tech, assistant, etc… This is the ideal of course, since most in these professions work hours that discourage laundering the same 2 pairs of scrubs every other day, and the profession itself makes it difficult to wear the same pair more than once between washings.  Having said all of this, it is to be deduced that to have the appropriate amount of clothing suitable for the workplace and the comfort level of the baby-laden veterinarian, one must take out a small business loan to have the purchasing power necessary.

I also get tired of looking at the same 2 pairs of scrubs on Shannon every other day.  Which I realize cannot be helped. What can be helped, however, is the size 326XL Scooby Doo.  Because I can help. And for a lesser rate of breaking the bank.

I made the (mistake?) of voicing this thought and plunged headlong into the project.  Armed with a vague shell of an idea and a bit of venture capital, and the lovely preferred customer coupons, I headed to JoAnn’s for the material.  I browsed the patterns, both maternity and scrubs, to formulate an estimate for yardage.  Browsing the prints, I piled my cart with close to 20 of my favorite prints.  What would I like to look at all day?  Yes, this was a very me-centered endeavor.  I narrowed it down to about 1/2 dozen of my favorites and pulled plain material for the bottoms.

The poor woman at the cutting counter must cringe when she sees me enter the store.  I never come in with a small project.  They’re always huge and with no exact measurements.  It’s all in my head.  I stand at the counter and talk out the amounts with her, and change my mind about 3 dozen and a half times while the line builds up behind me. Finally I left the building with a headache, no money, and a butt-load of fabric. Probably enough for at least 6 pair.

I need models.
I need models.

The thing about this whole project is that I HAD NO PATTERN!!  Shannon dropped 1 of her 2 pair of scrubs off with me over the weekend.  I painstakingly laid the top and bottom down on gridded pattern material and traced the sections adding seam allowance and a tiny bit of what I hope is my common sense (though if you ask my mom, she will tell you I have very little of this at times).

Special Order Pocket
Special Order Pocket

A week later, I have completed the first set.  It will be delivered tomorrow morning when Shannon and I arrive at work, to await the constructive criticisms necessary to make the 2nd set better than the 1st, and the 3rd better than both, and so on…

Author:

I rock. I also paper and scissors.

One thought on “Down with Scooby Doo!

Come on. Let it out. You know you want to.

