Posted in Living Water, Pop, Thanks for the memories

The North Star

Polaris… the North Star…

Throughout the ages it has guided travelers of various types: sailors, hikers, etc…  because it points due north; constant, unchanging, and unmoving.   Without a stationary point by which to be led, they would be led disastrously off course, going in circles or, by merely a degree at a time, heading vastly in the wrong direction.

Sailor Navigating by the Stars
Sailor Navigating by the Stars

Life is a bit like a journey.  More specifically, being a child of God is a journey.  As cheesy a metaphor as this is, hear me out before passing judgment.  The goal is to be like Christ, to have a relationship, a friendship with God as close and as intimate as is possible on this earth.

Today’s message was from II Timothy 2:14-19.

“Remind [them] of these things, charging [them] before the Lord not to strive about words to no profit, to the ruin of the hearers. Be diligent to present yourself approved to God, a worker who does not need to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth. But shun profane [and] idle babblings, for they will increase to more ungodliness. And their message will spread like cancer. Hymenaeus and Philetus are of this sort, who have strayed concerning the truth, saying that the resurrection is already past; and they overthrow the faith of some. Nevertheless the solid foundation of God stands, having this seal: “The Lord knows those who are His,” and, “Let everyone who names the name of Christ depart from iniquity.”

Paul urged Timothy to remember and remind the church the things they had been taught about God and what He desired to see in their lives and character.  We are likewise beseeched (gotta love those KJV words!) to constantly recall in which direction we are to be going, in much the same way as travelers again and again compare their course to the North Star as a means of staying on track.  As Paul instructed Timothy, I am also told to be diligent to know the Word of God so that I might use it properly.  So that I will ‘cut along the dotted lines’ the way they are drawn in, as Pop so aptly put it.

I will readily admit that I do not spend quality time in the Word as often and as engaged as I should.  Being completely honest, I will also confess that it is a struggle at times to pick up the Bible and desire the spiritual nourishment that it has to offer.  Whether it be from fear of seeing myself for the sinner I truly am, tho’ saved by grave, or from having my priorities backwards…  I will pick up a novel much more quickly than the Bible at times.  It pains me.  Yet feeling badly does much less to remedy this than does knowing WHY I should be delving in deeply to the life-giving Word of God and allowing it to separate between my bone and marrow, my thoughts and intentions.

Finding myself wife to a husband and parent of 2 children within a short span of time, I learn more everyday what I am and what I am not, often to my chagrin.  For instance, before Jim & I got married I really had no idea how incredibly self-centered I am.  As a mom, I need patience and steadfastness especially as Levi is growing up more everyday and needs to be taught and guided and disciplined.  I have moments and days when I have no idea what I’m doing and wonder in what direction I’m actually going.

I prefer going to church somewhere that I get my toes stepped on regularly.  I definitely did today.

I need a North Star, a Polaris.  I need a constant, an unchanging point to which I am always returning; to guide me forward in my journey of knowing Christ more, and as a mother, my gravely important responsibility of teaching my children to love God.  I need to repeatedly go to the Word of God as my guidance–my compass.

There is definitely nothing wrong with a good book on a quiet afternoon!  I love a good book!

The question is, do I love the Good Book more?  Am I being diligent to know my Bible?  To be able to use the teachings in it to live my life before the ‘Big Boss’ so that I will be approved by Him?  To follow the dotted lines and shape my children’s lives and pass a desire for knowing Him on to them?  To have a marriage that proclaims the relationship between Christ and church and brings people to Christ?  More important than even these things, to know Him!!  To be able to hear His voice in whatever way He wants to speak to me!!  To have fellowship and communion with Him, the Lover of my soul!!

Author:

I rock. I also paper and scissors.

2 thoughts on “The North Star

Come on. Let it out. You know you want to.

