Posted in Living Water, Pop, Thanks for the memories

“…we are dust.”

It is most encouraging to me to hear that God uses us  in one another’s lives as a blessing despite our obvious humanity.  Perhaps that is why: so He is glorified above all.  So often, when faced by my utter imperfection, I become despairing and hopeless (neither of these an attribute of the fruit of walking with the Spirit!). (Further hopelessness ensues…)

In tonight’s Bible Study, we embarked on a trek through the book of Psalms.  Though planning to cover the 1st 2 Psalms, our dear pastor, yes, my Pop,

Pop
Pop

made it through only one.  For this I am grateful.  My oft-times flighty and easily distracted noggin may not have been able to handle more and the nugget I gleaned may have fallen off the wagon before making it back to the barn. (Case in point:  when the passage spoke of a tree and the discussion veered in the direction of a tree stump sprouting, my mind immediately recalled Captain Kennit

Mad Ship
Mad Ship

and his newly severed leg resulting in a stump…)

If I am feeling hopeless and downtrodden because of my lack of perfection, there is but one remedy: to know Christ through His Word. 

Rom 12:2  “[…] be transformed by the renewal of your mind.”

Romans 10:17  “So faith comes from hearing, and hearing through the word of Christ.”

…to read the Word because God tells me to, to delight in it because in it I will see the character and Person of Christ, to meditate on it because that is where the nourishment for my spirit comes from.

Psalm 1:1-3

“Blessed is the man who walks not in the counsel of the wicked, nor stands in the way of sinners, nor sits in the seat of scoffers;
2  but his delight is in the law of the LORD, and on his law he meditates day and night.
3  He is like a tree planted by streams of water that yields its fruit in its season, and its leaf does not wither. In all that he does, he prospers.”

It is by absorbing the Word of God into my ‘roots’ that I will be fruitful for the kingdom of God.

The glorious thing about our loving Father in heaven is that He already sees perfection on my ‘account’ because of Christ, and when He sees the imperfectness of the vessels He has to work with, He is faithful to work out the blemishes on the  Potter’s Wheel, yet at the same time, using us.

2 Corinthians 4:7  “But we have this treasure in jars of clay, to show that the surpassing power belongs to God and not to us.”

How many times has He graciously seen fit to use me and I did not know it?  How many times has He desired to use me and I knew it but resisted because of my despairing?

Oh, the joy of Psalm 103:13-14!  “As a father shows compassion to his children, so the LORD shows compassion to those who fear him.  For he knows our frame; he remembers that we are dust.”

Author:

I rock. I also paper and scissors.

Come on. Let it out. You know you want to.

